Quick Cheats for Writing With Dragon: Hidden Tricks to Help You Dictate […] by Scott Baker

Quick Cheats for Writing With Dragon: Hidden Tricks to Help You Dictate Your Book, Work Anywhere and Set Your Words Free with Speech Recognition
Quick Cheats for Writing With Dragon: Hidden Tricks to Help You Dictate Your Book, Work Anywhere and Set Your Words Free with Speech Recognition by Scott Baker
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This book was free, and is a modified extract of a larger work called The Writer’s Guide to Training Your Dragon: Using Speech Recognition Software to Dictate Your Book and Supercharge Your Writing Workflow, not something I’m that curious reading after the disappointment of this book. As such, it kept repeating here and there about the other book so you’d go buy it. That’s annoying, even if I understand the need to advertise for more sales. Also, I don’t like links in my texts: at the front matter, at the back matter, ok. I’ll put up with the self-advertising there. In the middle of the text? No, thanks.

The book was not bad but… I don’t know, I guess I thought the “cheats” weren’t really “cheats”. Tricks… ? Maybe. I mean: “Get a good microphone”…. that’s not really a cheat, that’s common sense. The book assumes you’re somewhat familiar with Dragon already, but I feel like it was geared more towards people who had no idea about dragon instead, because the rest was, as I said, mostly common sense for anyone who’s been using it for longer than three days. There was a tip or two that were a bit more on the interesting side (like why you should go for a USB mic instead of a regular jack), and the interesting part (the differences between home and premium packages, for instance, which I never found properly explained in Nuance’s site) was glossed over to just say which pack to choose if you wanted transcription. Maybe the full book goes in more detail.

I also felt like it repeated itself quite a bit in the first 2-3 introductory paragraphs of every section just to create filling before getting to what was essentially the cheat/hack/trick.

All in all it wasn’t a terrible book, but it was also neither useful to me nor what I expected it to be from the title. Maybe if you’ve recently installed dragon so that you’re somewhat familiar with it but not very savvy, you’ll find some use on it.

View all my reviews

