Mary Hades by Sarah Dalton

Mary Hades: Beginnings (Mary Hades, #0.5-2)Mary Hades: Beginnings by Sarah Dalton
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

I got this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

I think a 2.5 rating would be more accurate for this collection. On the whole, I liked the story. It was very well told, was entertaining, and I liked the subject, but it cut it just a little short to keep me turning pages, which in turn made me take forever to finish it.

So, while the idea and execution were nice, I think the failure was in my age. There are YA books that can be appreciated by anyone, and there are YA books that are just a little “simple” (stylistically speaking, I don’t think there’s a better way for me to describe this). I honestly think had I been 13 or 16 I would have enjoyed this one a lot more. I can definitely see a younger girl or boy who is into ghosts and mystery and such enjoying the book plenty. Me, I just couldn’t quite get into it even though I liked it. That doesn’t mean someone else who’s even older than me might not enjoy it, but for me it didn’t quite cut it. I didn’t identify in any way with the main character, and even if I didn’t dislike her, I couldn’t quite find myself rooting for her either.
Perhaps it was also that I was expecting a bit more “horror” than we got.

I would still recommend this to YA enthusiasts or actual YAs.

View all my reviews

