Nightmares From The Deep 3: Davy Jones Collector’s Edition

Today I’ll be reviewing yet another game by Artifex Mundi, and, for once, it’s one that didn’t quite click with me. If you’ve been following my reviews for any amount of time, you know I love Hidden Object games, and that some of my favorite have been done by none other than Artifex Mundi. Even the previous games in the Nightmares From The Deep series I really enjoyed. However, for some reason I can’t quite pinpoint (and perhaps it was a mixture of several things that ended up having me dislike it), Nightmares from the Deep 3 didn’t quite make the cut for me.

“In Nightmares From The Deep 3 you take on the role of Sara, who along with her daughter is kidnapped by none other than Davy Jones”

Sara is then tasked with saving her daughter from Jones and a dark pact, and helping lost souls along the way. This is the last installment on the series, and the most disappointing to me.

The audio and video were of the expected quality: the character’s looks keep slowly improving as time goes by, the backgrounds are as beautiful and detailed as ever, and sounds and music keep improving as well.

Like in other games of theirs, they added collectables in the way of seahorses and pirate cards. The difficulty of finding them was reasonable- they were sufficiently hidden not to be obvious, but not all extremely hard to find, making for a nice extra challenge if you are into collecting stuff, or are a completionist.

They also made use of pets again. The dog, which is the choice pet this time, is truly adorable, and I loved that you could pet him, but compared to the reviewed Clockwork Tales, the functionality of it as other than a fetch tool and a companion was lacking.

Some of the cutscenes were also lacking a little – the most memorable one was a boat rowing scene were the rows moved but there were no hands on them. Hey! Magic! For a company that likes to pay so much attention to details in most their games, this was… surprising. It’s such a little thing, but it takes so much away.

“My other big complain is that, unlike in some of their previous titles, their find-by-picture Hidden Object scenes were very forced”

The items you were to find were force-blended with the background, such as by just changing the hue from what it was supposed to be, instead of having it just be lost among a bunch of similar items; this was a rather cheap move, made it difficult in all the wrong ways, and I didn’t like it at all. Besides, I generally find the find-by-icture scenes a lot more tedious than the ones were you’re given a list.

“As far as the rest of the hidden object scenes and puzzles, they were fairly average for the company, which is a good enough thing”

Puzzles, logic, and extras were of a decent difficulty and pleasant to play. I particularly liked having to play a board mini-game with one of the characters as way of moving forward, as it was different and inventive.

Onto more technical aspects, I was having a lot of troubles this time around keeping it from crashing while alt-tabbing on windowed mode, which I never had a problem with before.

As far as the story went, it was not too bad, but the whole Davey jones thing didn’t entirely “click” with me. The whoe thing felt longer than previous games, and not in a good way. I think it was more boredom that made it seem longer, than actual length in play time.

That said, if you love Artifex Mundi and hidden object games, and if you’ve played the previous two games of the series, Nightmares From The Deep 3: Davy Jones is a nice final installment to it and definitely a mus-have from a fan/collector’s point of view. For everyone else, there’s nothing overly special about this one, even if it’s not a bad game per se.

Would I recommend it? I do think I would still recommend this to other HOG players.

If you enjoy HOG then do yourself a favor and pick this one up as well. Chances are you just might like it.

