Tomb Raider

 

Data
Break Up
Game: Tomb Raider
Genre: Action, Adventure
Developer: Crystal Dynamics, Feral Interactive (Mac)
Publisher: Square Enix, Feral Interactive (Mac)
Release Date: Mar 4, 2013
Platform: PC / Played on Windows 7
Overall rating:  9/10
Graphics: 10/10 (Works on toasters, low settings, still looks good)
Controls: 9/10
Level/Puzzle Design:8/10
Sound: 9/10
Story: 6/10
Playability/Gameplay: 9/10
Community: N/A (didn’t try Multiplayer)

 

Review

I won this game here on WalaWalaGames and it’s by far one of the best games I’ve ever won.

Like all Tomb Raider games there’s a lot of platforming and accidentally jumping to your death because you miscalculated how far that other ledge was and well darn, now you’ll have to go back to the last checkpoint. Oh well. Game mechanics were simple, controls were quite comfortable, aiming was easy, and the upgrade system was decent, though I hardly had a need for the shotgun at all so it felt a bit wasteful to spend any salvaging on it. The saving (checkpoint autosave, camp site save) was pretty accessible and I was pleased with how far it went without save points (some games make it really really far to get to another save point so dying halfway through can make you rage-quit: not here, though!)

Game mechanics were a bit of a mix. Sometimes you had those quick time events which can be slightly annoying, but this game gave you enough reaction time to realize it’d suddenly switched from action to ‘press x key’, and at least said x key wasn’t really x, and wasn’t really halfway across the keyboard either. Some call that boring, I call that thank you for not breaking my fingers. The “mash E button to (insert action here)” was rather annoying, however, particularly in a couple places where you mashed it forever and you’d still not managed to get even halfway to what you had to do. I get it, the door you’re lifting is heavy, ok? Some of us have better things to do than break our keyboards to get past a point in the game. Other than that, the system was simple and enjoyable, with pretty basic action buttons to remember.

The game was beautiful graphics and sounds wise. Even in low settings it looked wonderful, and it was really wonderful to explore all the maps. It was, however, rather linear, which is to be expected in all Tomb Raider games. Big plus that it works in toasters with low settings and, when it lagged (particularly in very action filled parts), just lowering the resolution for the time of the action usually solved the problem. So it was very toaster-friendly and I love that in a game.

Fights could get a bit tedious when it came to those “defend this post until the enemy wave ends” schemes, but otherwise they were entertaining. Perhaps if I’d remembered more often that I had a grenade launcher they would’ve been easier. Oops. lol I do wish they would have also provided more freedom on what type of weapons you had to use where. I loved used the bow and frankly wanted to stealth my game through the entire game (well, maybe not during enemy waves lol), but I was often forced to switch weapon. It wasn’t a big con, however, just more of wishful thinking on my part.

The puzzles weren’t too difficult, in fact most were rather easy, which I rather enjoyed too (but I guess some people would like a challenge better).

Story-wise it left something to be desired. The basic story was good, but I didn’t quite fancy the tortured, inexperienced, whiny Lara (not that she didn’t have a right to be whiny, she was being tortured through most of it, but… )

Replayability is moderately high, though you don’t really have new game+ (which is a damn shame) you can at least go back on your save file and explore the island to complete whatever you missed on the first play through, so you can probably get most achievements, if not all. This mode respawns enemies, which is good for farming exp, but (there’s always a but) it respawns them at fixed points, so once you know where they are it gets kind of boring to hunt them down.

Bug-wise I only encountered one through the entire thing, which was apparently solved by just waiting for a minute or so before you made a jump.

As for the multiplayer, I haven’t played it so I can’t really comment on it. Seems like it’s PvP and I’m more into PvE and actual co-op where you co-op(erate) with people to defeat something other than people, call me a pacifist if you will. :P

Now, I know I’ve mentioned a lot of cons, but the game was still awesome and gripping. I loved the non-wave fights, particularly if I could stealth my way around them, and I loved exploring the bigger maps. I played it two days straight until I finished it and all I have left to do now is explore to finish collecting things I missed, so obviously, you can say I really, really enjoyed it!


Toaster graphics  8D
