Apartment 16 by Adam Nevill

Apartment 16Apartment 16 by Adam Nevill
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

First, why, why, WHY could she not just have been called APRIL instead? Why?
With that special snowflake out of the way, the book was ok, kinda boring, not overly scary, nothing overly new either: An artist obsessed with gross/grotesque/gorey stuff, some creepy apartment where something bad happened, and occult all mixed in a nice pot.
Seth’s chapters, which I guess were meant to be shockingly gross, were the most annoying of all. On the one hand, the way the mental decline was portrayed was kinda ok, on the other, the whole shock/disgusting thing was not overly shocking after the initial description, and got boring quickly. I admit, I skimmed after a few.
Apryl’s chapters were better, even if I cringed whenever her name was mentioned. I didn’t like the “love interest” bit (it felt out of place and kind of forced), but I did pretty much sort of enjoyed the rest; at least, it had a nicer, creepier atmosphere, even if it was still boring.

An ok book, if you’re not expecting much out of it.

View all my reviews

