The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Hobbit (Middle-Earth Universe)The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was read mostly out of obligation, while I liked the story and all, I can’t help but feel no sympathy for hobbits.

My neighbor first introduced me to J.R.R. Tolkien‘s writing- I wanted to read Lord of The Rings, but he insisted (and with good reason) that in order to understand everything better I had to read The Hobbit first (or he wouldn’t lend me LOTR… ) And so I did.

The story and writing are excellent and it certainly cleared up questions I would’ve had reading LOTR without any background, but I felt little sympathy for the characters, so it doesn’t get more than three stars.

View all my reviews

star_full (48)star_full (48)star_full (48)star_none (48)star_none (48)

Get it with the epic Lord of The Rings award_star_gold_3: The Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings (the Hobbit / the Fellowship of the Ring / the Two Towers / the Return of the King) & The Silmarillion

 

One thought on “The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

  1. I couldn’t agree more about this one. Not the strongest. Doesn’t even compare to the glory of LOTR. Thanks for sharing the great review!

    If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

    Like

Comments are closed.