Life is Strange (episode 1)

 

Data
Break Up
Game: Life is Strange (Episode 1)
Genre: Action, Adventure
Developer: DONTNOD Entertainment
Publisher: Square Enix
Release Date: Jan 29, 2015
Platform: PC / Played on Windows 7
Overall rating:  9/10
Graphics: 10/10
Controls: 9/10
Level/Puzzle Design:7/10
Sound: 9/10
Story: 8.5/10
Playability/Gameplay: 7/10
Community: N/A

 

Review

I was rather torn when I finished playing Episode one.
On the one hand, I loved the game: It played pretty smoothly on my computer once I lowered the resolution, which is more than I can say for the average game (there were some weird rainbow glow colors thing going on during my first play-through, but it was fixed by the developer and the second play-through I had no such problem), I liked the story (it seemed interesting, from what little you can glimpse on just one episode), I liked the style (gameplay wise it was somewhat reminiscent of, but not at all like, “The Walking Dead” – as far as choices and timing and actions, I mean), and I love being given options on what to reply. Plus, the time rewind was beautiful. I wish all games had that, because I always have my “No, wait, that’s not at all what I wanted to say!” (particularly when they only offer you one part of the answer in text and it’s not at all like you thought it was meant when they say it out loud and then you’re stuck with the bad choice because the developers couldn’t put things down clearly. Not here, though!).
I also liked that I had all the time in the world (sort of) to consider each answer carefully, there were no real quick time events (which I kinda hate) and what did need to be addressed ‘quickly’ could be fixed with a rewind… so…

On the other hand, the first episode was way too short, even for the price tag, and as much as I want to play the next episodes, I’m not sure I’m ready to shell out the $17 for the season pack. And here’s why:

I understand things have to be scripted, but I would have liked to have the opportunity to explore more on my own. I understand it’s a story game and not open world, thus is has to be linear, but it doesn’t have to be that linear. What I mean is, why can’t I go to the parking lot and tell the guy “I still don’t have the USB drive” but look around the place anyway? I would have enjoyed the ability to go back and forth and explore thus a bit more (locked to the ‘area’, sure, as in, unable to leave school grounds, but still free to move within the areas within the school grounds).
Moreover, I feel like not a single thing was resolved in Episode 1, and I think it would have been better if [is]something[/i] had been resolved. I don’t even mean the big plot stuff, but… something small. I don’t know, so that you felt like you actually accomplished something, which I think it’s important in episodic games if you want them to get more.
As for the answers, while I do believe what you choose now will have consequences later, I was a bit disappointed upon replay that there really wasn’t that much difference in the answers you got if you went one road versus another…

Also I read on the comments that a lot of people had troubles with the controls (on how to look/use stuff), but I had zero problem with it. It’s the same some other adventure type games have used, there’s nothing wrong or broken about them.

I can’t really comment on the story as a whole from just one episode, but it seemed interesting enough and I’d be curious to know more about her power. I hope it’s revealed in further episodes how she got it or why she has it.

Replayability is rather low, at least having just the one episode, because like I said, there weren’t that many differences when choosing another road. I did love the time-rewind concept though, and I’d be looking forward to the season pass if it went on sale.

All that aside, I’d still recommend the game if you’re into this kind of adventure/story types.


There was a floating cigarette in my friend’s room.
(By the way, the technicolor issue was fixed by developers)
