[Prototype]

 

Data
Break Up
Game: [Prototype]
Genre: Action, Adventure
Developer: Radical Entertainment
Publisher: Activision
Release Date: Jun 10, 2009
Platform: PC / Played on Windows 7
Overall rating:  6/10
Graphics: 6/10
Controls: 7/10
Level/Puzzle Design:N/A
Sound: 7/10
Story: 7/10
Replay Value: 3/10
Community: N/A

 

Review

Take on the role of Alex Mercer, a man who has no recollection of what’s happened to him or why, or how he came to acquire the shape-shifting powers he now possesses. Find the people who’ve done that to you and make them pay.
The game -action, adventure, open worldish- sounded fun and looked fun, and I was very hyped to play it. I was also very disappointed when I finally did. Controls, though a bit wonky, are not difficult. You can change your body “at will” to attack enemies and destroy things, and when I say “at will” I mean you only have so many things you can change into. I think the most fun aspect of the game is the fact that you can ‘consume’ random people and then turn into them, and run/jump your way around pretty freely.

I’d say the graphics are dated, but it’s an oldish game, so it gets a slight pass for that. What it doesn’t get a pass for, however, is the shitty performance. For a 2009 game that should run like a charm on my computer, it sure worked like crap even at the lowest settings, lagging worse than Assassin’s Creed III – and at least that one had a reason to lag (no “low” video settings, hey). I’m also not particularly fond of the reddish/orangeish filter they use on later cinematics and gameplay time, I find it bothersome to look at.

Your character is overpowered, which is not bad in itself if you like an easy game, but it does make things boring after a while as it’s all the same; to tell the truth, it reminded me a little of God Hand for some reason, only that one was actually fun to keep playing. With Prototype, I did the first few missions and was bored out of my mind – that along with the slightly eye-hurting graphics and slight, random spikes of lag made the game truly disappointing.
The gameplay is pretty repetitive otherwise. Fight a bunch of bad guys, have them call in tanks and an airstrike, be chased, shake them off, rinse and repeat with a moderate variety of enemies and mutants to fight against.

It’s not a completely unplayable game, mind you. If you’re extremely bored and want to play something that doesn’t pose a huge challenge, it’s not a bad game and could even be considered entertaining. I liked the city, the chance to explore it some, the general idea of the game was good (though the story was a bit hit and miss with me), but the execution left a lot to be desired.
Perhaps if the game had lagged a bit less I would have enjoyed it a bit better.

I wouldn’t recommend this game, but I would certainly not tell you to steer clear from it either, as I feel it could be a lot more fun if you can actually play it sans the lag.

