Parasite Eve by Hideaki Sena

Parasite EveParasite Eve by Hideaki Sena

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

How to best describe this book? It was terrifyingly gross and pretty darn awesome.

Usually books that start heavy on the medical/biological aspect tend to bore me, and Parasite Eve starts a bit like that: Slow, full of details about biology (and further on, medical transplants) that you end up wondering if there was any need to read about at all, or if they were just there to either drag the story or prove the author could indeed write about it. Despite that I endured, because the writing style was interesting, and well, perhaps for once there’d be a point to all that biological detailed-ness.
There was, sort of. I’m of the belief the story could have done without the ‘hard’ science part, but having it ultimately didn’t take away from what was essentially a horribly gross and terrifying story and did provide some background.

With that out of the way, yes, the first half of the book is slow, and then on the last half everything happens. And I do mean, everything. All the action is contained within the last half or 1/3 of the book, and advances incredibly fast. It’s this action that makes it terrifying, and your imagination which makes it appropriately gross through the detailed descriptions the author provides, and that sense of ultimate ewww that made me rate it 4 stars.

The characters weren’t overly likable, but they carried the story well enough; a story that was sufficiently interesting as well, as I’m lately finding I rather like certain types of medical/biological-horror novels a bit more than I thought, after all.

 

star_full (48)star_full (48)star_full (48)star_full (48)star_none (48)

