4PM

 

Data
Break Up
Game: 4PM
Genre: Indie
Developer: Bojan Brbora
Publisher: 4PM GAME
Release Date: Jul 9, 2014
Platform: PC / Played on Windows 7
Overall rating:  1/10
Graphics: 3/10
Controls: 6/10
Level/Puzzle Design:N/A
Sound: 5/10
Story: N/A
Replay Value: 0/10
Community: N/A

 

Review

Let me get this out of the way first:
DO NOT BUY IF YOU SUFFER FROM MOTION SICKNESS.

4PM is supposed to be an interactive story, and in that, I suppose it manages, sort of, to at least convey some kind of story, assuming you can put up with it. I won’t be discussing the story itself because I’ll address mostly the big reasons to not even attempt this game/movie/story/thing.

The choice subject (alcoholism and suicide), can make for a dark, interesting story. Instead, what it was trying to say was lost in awful game mechanics and graphics. While the surroundings might be passable, and the little sign with sun coming through might make for a pretty postcard, the whole thing is quite the wreck otherwise. The only thing the poor character has going for her is that she has a body (unlike half the FPS games), but other than that, she’s quite awful to look at, making you thankful that it’s FPS… until you start moving.

I don’t think even drunk people walk like this character does. You could argue that she was drunk, it is a story about alcoholism after all, but I’m fairly sure the story start was a ‘morning after’, and she had no reason to be swaying like drunkard just yet. And even assuming it wasn’t (and that she maybe was drunk), the game should still be bearable to play, not purposefully make you sick for edginess’ sake.
The blurring effect found through the start of the game gave me a headache, just to go along with how sick her swaying walk made me feel. Looking sideways tilts your world diagonally too. I don’t know about you, but when I look over my shoulder that just doesn’t happen unless I’m already dizzy.

Right about then, some 10 minutes in, is where you start to wonder if the developer wanted to tell a story about alcoholism or wanted you to feel like you were drunk.

I cannot speak for the story itself as it made me feel way too sick to play more than 10 minutes (but I’m told it doesn’t last over half an hour anyhow). The game is advertised as cinematic and experimental, but even movies have to be watchable if you want people to be able to get through them (cam-shake movies included).

As for the rest of the game’s settings…. there are not a lot of options for customizing anything – not the bobbing and swaying of the character nor the audio or video settings nor much of anything at all.

Good luck if you try this one.

