The Store by Bentley Little

El AlmacenEl Almacen by Bentley Little
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This book was just so all over the place, that I just don’t know what to rate it. 2? 2,5? 3? I think I’ll settle with a 2, just because it had such a disappointing ending (but I was ready to rate it a 3 or 4 at the start).

Which takes me to…

The start – actually about the first half of the book was quite alright. It was slow paced which might alienate some, but I found I enjoyed the writing style, and it had several creepy scenes that built up suspense and made me wonder what was going on with/in The Store. I can’t say I loved the characters, they were all pretty bland in my opinion, but I could overlook that because the suspense it built.
If you will, it was mostly showing, not so much telling.

And then, somewhere between halfway or so and onward, it became… awful.
On the last 2-3 chapters, it was completely telling, and showing almost nothing. (view spoiler)
The ending amounted to nothing, (view spoiler), and in my opinion made very little sense and was awfully silly. Corny? Cheesy? Something like that.

So in all, the ending ruined it for me, a real shame considering I was quite enjoying it at first.

View all my reviews

