The Forever War by Joe Haldeman

La guerra interminable (La guerra interminable, #1)La guerra interminable by Joe Haldeman
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

When I went to the library I was very hesitant on whether to grab this book or not, but I figured since I was only taking out one other book, I would give it a try. The author sounded familiar, after all.
I regret actually picking it up. When I got home and read the reviews, so many of which had very high ratings, I thought it would be a great read; but to my personal taste it wasn’t.

The military parts – most of the book – was good, but it was rather slow and a little boring for someone who isn’t that much into reading military and war related things. My bad, as I suppose I should have expected it given the title.

And then it got to the whole homosexuality part and I thought: what the hell am I reading? I’m sure they could’ve come up with a hundred better ways to stop overpopulation, but okay, lets say I went along with it.

I couldn’t stand the main character- I couldn’t stand any of the characters, frankly. The place the military gave women in this book? Awful.
There is not a single thing I can rescue of it that I actually enjoyed. I had a hard time even finishing it.

View all my reviews

